FitgirlsDiary’s Weight Loss Program

Since I have just started going to the gym, I simply lifted a few weights and played with the machines. I tried to follow a plan I found online but I couldn’t commit to it since it felt too “easy”. By easy, I meant I only get to lift heavy for a short amount of time and I felt I was cheating myself. At the end of each program cycle, I hardly managed a good sweat and I still have too much energy that I had to try other machines at the gym so I could kill time and get my sweat on.
So, I decided to look for a plan that would really challenge me. I know I’m just looking for more trouble and pain, but what the heck. I have to see if I could handle it. Also, my month doing the Beach Body workout inspired me to add proper weightlifting to my workout routine in order to maximize strength and weight loss (mostly fat loss). 
I want abs. That’s it. I need to see that I really could because I sincerely believe if I work hard enough, I could really do it.
So, in my quest through fitness tips on Pinterest, I came upon FitGirlsDiary’s Weight Loss Program. It’s actually very interesting because it focuses on working a lot of muscle groups for every session. Also, it encourages strength training AND cardio in order to maximize weight loss. I figured, why not? This might be fun. Sure, it’s intensely painful and exhausting but I’m also sure it’s hella fun. See how masochistic I am? 

Anyway, I checked through all the workouts she linked based on the muscles focused on such as the chest, shoulders, triceps, butt, legs, back, biceps and abs
 I then decided I’d modify her program based on the workouts I want to learn more on. 

Below is my version of FitgirlsDiary’s Weight Loss Program:

Lift Days: MTThF

Cardio Days: SWS

MONDAY

3 CHEST 

  • Bench Press 3×13  
  • Dumbbell Pullover 3×13   
  • Butterfly & Dumbbell Flies 3×13  

2 SHOULDERS

  • Dumbbell Press 3×15  
  • Front Raises 3×15 

2 TRICEPS

  • Overhead Lateral Triceps Extension 3×15  
  • Cable Triceps Extension 3×15  

2 BUTT

  • Squats with Barbell 3×15  
  • Deadlifts bent knees 3×15  

30-mins cardio

 

TUESDAY

5 LEGS

  • Straight knees Deadlifts 3×15 
  • Walking Lunges 3×15 
  • Leg Extensions – use machine 3×15 
  • Leg Curls 3×15 
  • Leg Press 3×15 

2 BACK

  • Wide-grip Pulldown 3×15  
  • Seated Cable Row 3×30 

2 BICEPS

  • Barbell Curls 4×13 
  • Cable Curls 4×13 

30-mins cardio
8PM – Beach Body Workout
WEDNESDAY

1 hour Jogging

ABS

  • Crunches 3×20 
  • Bicycle Crunches 3×20
  • V Crunches 3×20
  • Leg Lifting 3×20
  • Plank 3×20
  • Supermans 3×20


THURSDAY

3 CHEST

  • Push Ups 3×13  
  • Incline Bench Press 3×13  
  • Dumbbell Pullover 3×13 

3 SHOULDERS 

  • Sitting Military Press 3×15  
  • Reverse Fly 3×15 
  • Lateral Raises 3×15 

2 TRICEPS

  • Kettlebell Overhead Lateral Triceps Extension 3×15   
  • Triceps Dips 3×15  

2 BUTT

  • Squats with Barbell 3×15  
  • Lunges 3×15

30-mins cardio

8PM – Beach Body Workout

FRIDAY

5 LEGS

  • Straight-knees Deadlifts 3×15 
  • Squats with Barbell 3×15 
  • Leg curls 3×15 
  • Leg Press 3×15 
  • Leg Extensions 3×15 

2 BACK

  • Front Lat Pulldown 3×15  
  • One Arm Dumbbell Row 3×15 

2 BICEPS

  • Alternating Hammer Curls 4×13 
  • Concentration Curls 4×13 

30-mins cardio


SATURDAY

1 hour Jogging

Abs

  •  Crunches 3×20 
  • Bicycle Crunches 3×20
  • V Crunches 3×20
  • Leg Lifting 3×20
  • Plank 3×20
  • Supermans 3×20

8PM – Beach Body Workout
SUNDAY

Rest Day

1 hour Jogging
Remember, you can make your own too. It’s all about making sure you have fun and your enjoy your workouts so fitness will come easier. Just give it a try. 

Leave a Reply

