Weight Loss Update

On June 16, 2015 – 3 days before my birthday this year – I decided to join a Resistance Circuit Training called the Beach Body Workout at the Flow Genesis Parkour and Gym Studio in Mandaue. Since I work out with gym buddies, Chris and Errol, there’s accountability whenever we need to work out. We work out three times a week: Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays.

On July 7, 2015, I decided to incorporate weight training since I had to stay in Mindanao for a week, hence, I can’t work out with them. I had to be disciplined enough to keep working out even when I wasn’t in Cebu. Lifting weights just seemed to make more sense.

When I went back to Cebu, I continued with the resistance training at Flow Genesis. 

Since I had to come back to Mindanao for my step-dad’s birthday on July 17, 2015 (and might have to stay here for another week), I went right back to lifting 3x a week as substitute for the Beach Body Workout. I have also started to jog again every morning but I try to make sure I don’t exceed 40 mins so I don’t lose muscle, just fat.

Below are my progress photos during my workouts. 

     
      

Before
 
After
 

  
I apologize for the quality of the photos but, seriously, I’m so happy! There’s actual physical progress right there and I’m so glad! My arms are still big but I can definitely feel my muscles growing on my biceps and triceps. Also, I didn’t expect to see so much progress on my stomach in less than a month. To think I actually ate a lot of McDonald’s burgers on my first month! It’s a terrible habit I definitely have to stop. 

I think the jogging definitely helped. My legs feel harder from all the jogging and lunges, and I am actually starting to like the post-workout pain.

Right now, I’m trying to focus on eating healthy and avoiding unnecessary junk. I’m trying to make sure I look healthier by August 20, 2015. That’s the goal date since I read that habits are established by the third month. If things keep progressing, then I might even see thosd abs in a year! I really hope so.

My Workout Routine

My workout routine is quite simple: I lift three times a week (Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays). I have four rest days.

Basically, the Beach Body Workout is an intense resistance circuit training session that focuses on bodyweight lifting. We occasionally lift heavy objects such as car tires but we mostly try to lift our bodies with lunges, chin-ups, pull-ups, etc. The fun thing with Beach Body is I don’t really know what workout we will be doing. My body is consistently surprised since we could be focusing on legs one day then core on another. The workouts vary a lot so all my body knows is it is pushed to work out but it can’t predict what workout will challenge it next. It’s really intense and doubles as cardio too.

Our program generally goes this way:

3 minutes Warm Up (In three mins, do as much of the exercises as possible):

  • Squats 3×10
  • Push-Ups 3×10
  • Lunges 3×0
  • Jumping Jacks 3×10
  • Planks 3×15 second counts

5 Intense Workouts for 3 Circuits 

This part varies every time. Each circuit ends with a 2-minute break. Below is a sample:

  • Chest to bar 3×15
  • Burpees 3×15
  • Deep Sit-Ups 3×15 + 15-count core hold
  • Flutter Kicks 3×15
  • Farmer’s Walk 3×15

On the days I’m in Mindanao, I focus on weight lifting at the gym. I have to be more strict with my modified workout since I have no trainer keeping track of my movements.

Every day, I do 10-minutes of yoga to stretch plus 2 circuits of the 7-minute workout. 

Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays are lift days. I alternate between two workouts:

Workout A

  • Deadlifts 3×15
  • Bench Press 3×15
  • Squats with Barbells 3×15
  • Pull-Ups (Do as much as I could)
  • Biceps Curl 3×15 each side
  • Side Bends 3×30 (15 on each side)

and if I still have energy, I play with other weights.

Workout B

  • Squats with Barbells 3×15
  • Leg Presses 3×20
  • Lunges 3×30 (15 each side)
  • Spinning 3×100 counts
  • Leg Raises 3×15
  • Dips 3×15
  • Lateral Pulldown 3×15

then play with other machines if I still have energy.
That’s it, basically. More on my diet and calorie cycling on the next post.

Hope you enjoy reading!

Leave a Reply

