Review: Life, the Universe and Everything

Life, the Universe and Everything
Life, the Universe and Everything by Douglas Adams
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Wow! I truly can’t believe I made it this far into the series.
I was supposed to follow the advice of a clever reviewer who said that it would be best to not read the books so closely to each other or the reader would get an overdose of Adams’ amazing humor and wit. This follows the theory that any reader would eventually find the humor bland and repetitive, ultimately defeating the whole purpose of reading a humorous account of life, the universe, and everything!
Still, hard-headed as I am, I went right ahead and read the third book as soon as I finished the second and I’m still hooked! I have to convince myself that I need to read other books too (there’s still a collection of poems I have to internalize on). But, as any fan of Douglas Adams knows, it’s a bit hard to put any of his books down.
The third book is definitely not as funny as the first book, but that doesn’t mean there wouldn’t be some laughs. I love the plot twists and the whole concept of flying.
I love each of the characters even more. Marvin the paranoid android is still adorable a cynical robot as ever. Zaphod is definitely my favorite, along with Trillian! Trillian is, naturally, too smart for any of them but she sticks around anyway. She actually figured out how to save the universe on all her own and that, in itself, is quite impressive. Did I mention that she’s a super intelligent astrophysicist on earth (before it was destroyed by the Vogons?).
Zaphod is a charmer. I love his personality all throughout. He’s like an ENFP on steroids and caffeine. I love him!!
Also, I can’t help reading about Arthur Dent without imagining the Martin Freeman version of him. It just fit (for me). He’s so totally Arthur. I mean, I’m not a fan of his being daft but it wouldn’t be so fun if he wasn’t so daft.
Ford? Meh. This is just me but I’ve always thought he was an inconsequential character. As far as BFF’s go, he’s a pretty lame one and this is in consideration that Arthur is already kinda wimpy and daft all on his own. Ok, Arthur did try to be brave, but Ford was like “I’ll just hide in the sidelines and come out when there’s a cool action sequence. *Shrug I don’t know, he simply didn’t make an impression on me.

Overall, the humor is spot-on! I love the twists (poor Agrajag!!) and Slartibartfast actually plays a bigger role! The turns are just as interesting (Hello, Lunching Monks!) and *gaaah! Yay for time travel!

Okay, I need to take a break from Douglas Adams. I fear my review isn’t making any sense anymore (even to me).

Overall (again?), great book! It was great fun and it’s always a good read!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

