The day I tried belly dancing!

If you check out my page you notice that I have listed out my goals for 2015. Of course, it’s mighty ambitious (even I know that) but it would always be cool to try and I have always wanted to see how far I could go.

As encouragement, my brother has told me I tend to do things better if I don’t plan them and just do them spontaneously. He’s cited how he’s confident I could go on those trips I’ve always wanted to go because I could just not plan the trips then just jump out and go.

When it comes to matters that need consistency and regularity, though, it could prove to be a challenge. Mostly because I’m not very focused. Maybe it’s because I’m a Gemini, but I find it utterly difficult to focus on just one thing. There’s so many things I want to do and it’s so easy to get distracted.

Hence! I have decided to see if I could change that. I have downloaded an app that tracks habits on my phone and I have enrolled myself in that cheap bellydancing class my friend has recommended to me.

Why? Because I listed “bellydancing for 31 days” as one of my goals this 2015. I’ve always wanted to do it and I want to see if I could actually last 31 days.

Here’s the tricky part, the 31 days is divided into 3x a week since the rest of the week is also divided up among my Master’s classes, yoga attempts and free Zumba classes. Ha! I don’t know how I could do this. Maybe I’m pushing myself too hard?

Anyway, today was my second day doing bellydancing classes. The classes are in the Cebu City Sports Complex and costs only Php 50 an hour! That’s just about one American dollar, give or take! Obviously, it’s not as fancy as being in a club membership gym, but why would I pay thousands of pesos monthly when I could go to similar classes for only a dollar for an hour each day?

The bellydancing class consisted of around 15 women. Some are way, way older than me and some have bigger bellies..but the magic of it is, no one cares what you look like. Of course, they went all the way and wore fancy bellydancing outfits, but no one gives you crap about what you’re supposed to look when you’re in the class. Most of them just wore the fancy bellydancing outfits so they could see their bellies move and feel the burn. It is great motivation to see your body move, after all. Most of them just wore the fancy bellydancing outfits cause they just felt like it. It also adds up to the confidence because, admit it, no matter what size you are, a bellydancing outfit is Hella sexy.

Seriously, though, most of them didn’t care about what you wear and what you look like. You can go and dance with makeup or not (personally, I don’t wear makeup when dancing). I only just wore a pair of shorts and a t-shirt and no one gives me crap. There’s no awkward staring at each other because you’re all busy dancing and minding your own business. People just do what they went there to do and I love it!

The class took an hour to finish and I got a really good sweat out of it. I’m actually looking forward to attending more classes next time. The instructor has been really patient and she keeps us all in pace. Not a lot of us are dancers but we still felt like we’d be good enough to perform with Shakira…or maybe that’s just me. Haha!

I’ll be saving up a lot of Php 50 so I could join more classes. I’ll probably spend around Php150 a week or around $3 and, I tell you, that is definitely a deal.

P.S. I didn’t get to take any photos because we were all busy dancing. Maybe next time, I’ll try to purchase a fancy bellydancing outfit for the classes too and I’ll take photos. I’m trying to convince Myra and Jennie to join me so that we could all work out together. Hopefully, they’d agree. It would be so much more fun with them.

Either way, I’m excited. I feel great and I feel good. I’m looking forward to finishing through this goal!

xoxo
Sheree

Protected by Copyscape Online Plagiarism Detection

2 thoughts on “The day I tried belly dancing!

    1. Glad to know it made you smile. ☺ We need more fun and cheap classes so we’re all more motivated to work out. I’m sure there are lots of cheap, fun classes there too. 😉

Leave a Reply

