Sandali (English Translation)

image

A few weeks ago I posted the original lyrics of our title track for the first Comfortable Confusion Productions film production, Erlinda. The title track is Sandali and it was written by Jennie Elloran and performed by Myra Escoro.

Since the lyrics are in Filipino, not a lot of people may be able to understand what it’s all about. So for the sake of convenience and understanding, here’s the song lyrics translated in English.

I.
You remind me of chocolates
I could revel in your sweetness
But I can’t because of the diabetes
That runs in our family

You’re like an ice-cold beer
Freshly bought from the store
You quench my thirst
But leave me wanting more

Refrain:
You’re like rain in the middle of summer
Even if it’s not expected, you still come around

Chorus 1:
Wait a moment, kuya.
Give me a moment to think.
Wait a moment, will you please?
I’m also quite confused.
Just a moment,
I don’t understand
Why am I singing this song for you?

II.
My mother has often warned me,
Try to avoid men like you –
Tattoos scattered and strewn all over,
Hair that reaches up to the waist.

I can’t help it if you’re my type.
Well, I’m also a rebel quite like you,
I have tattoos and earrings too.
Don’t you think we’re just the same?

Refrain:
Well, so what if you’re not the ideal choice?
What’s important is we’re happy together, right?

Chorus 2:
Come over here, kuya
Don’t you worry.
Even if you stay away,
Even if I think I love you
I won’t follow you.
That probably doesn’t make sense, right?

Coda:
I’m still allowed to love you, right?
Just be with you for a moment,
To feel the love and the pain.

Chorus 1 & 2:
Wait a moment, kuya
Give me time to think
Wait a moment, will you please?
I’m also quite confused.
Just a moment,
I don’t understand
Why am I singing this song for you?

Come on over here, kuya
Don’t you worry.
Even if you have to leave,
Even if I think I love you,
I won’t follow you.
That probably doesn’t make sense, right?

image
Photo edited by Jimma Totesora

You can listen to the song through the Tagihawat Monologues Soundcloud: