No to rape and unjust discrimination

I was browsing my newsfeed on Facebook when I came upon this article about a young woman in Iran who was convicted for the murder of her attempted rapist.

Essentially, Reyhaneh Jabbari wasn’t given a fair opportunity to prove that she killed the man in order to protect herself. Since the man came from a wealthy and influential political influence, the trial became a full-blown case and the young lady was eventually convicted of murder, the punishment of which was execution by hanging last Saturday, October 25, 2014.

Several human rights groups have attempted to prevent her execution, but the verdict of the Tehran Court last 2009 sentencing her to death for the murder of former Ministry of Intelligence employee Morteza Abdolali Sarbandihas was upheld by Iran’s Supreme Court – thus, sealing her fate to a rope tied around her neck.

Prior to her death, she wrote a letter to her mother requesting her to not grieve over her death and that she doesn’t want to be buried on any ground. She requested that her organs be donated anonymously to people who need them the most and that her mother should not mourn for her. She also stated that divine justice will eventually condemn those who have unjustly executed her and trampled on her rights.

Here’s an excerpt of her letter to her mother.

You taught me that one comes to this world to gain an experience and learn a lesson and with each birth a responsibility is put on one’s shoulder. I learned that sometimes one has to fight…

I don’t want to have a grave for you to come and mourn there and suffer. I don’t want you to wear black clothing for me. Do your best to forget my difficult days. Give me to the wind to take away.

The world did not love us. It did not want my fate. And now I am giving in to it and embrace the death. Because in the court of God I will charge the inspectors, I will charge inspector Shamlou, I will charge judge, and the judges of country’s Supreme Court that beat me up when I was awake and did not refrain from harassing me. In the court of the creator I will charge Dr. Farvandi, I will charge Qassem Shabani and all those that out of ignorance or with their lies wronged me and trampled on my rights and didn’t pay heed to the fact that sometimes what appears as reality is different from it.

This whole message just shows that there is still much that needs to be done in order to protect the rights of people – not just women – everywhere. Despite the movement to promote equality and justice in a global and local scale,  and despite the attempts to show that the world has matured on social issues considering that now is the 21st century, inequality still happens. Corruption still happens. Abuse of power, gender discrimination, power tripping, and oppression still happens. And worse, the people who fought for their rights are the ones condemned to death.

We don’t want any more of this.

We don’t want anymore of this terrible, oppressive rape culture.

We don’t want anymore unfair trials, political power play and unjust killings over unresolved cases and corrupted agenda.

But these won’t change unless we all take a stand to condemn all of these.

If we allow ourselves to passively accept these gross disrespect for human life as another headline on the news or another death rated in a statistic, then change isn’t going to happen and the oppression will continue on.

We cannot turn a blind eye on this.

As such, I would personally say “No to anymore of this.”

I would personally condemn each of these oppressive and unjust killings. I condemn the rape culture and I condemn the tyrannical abuse of power by these “people in power”.

I may not be someone of influence, but I will definitely be someone who will take a stand against this…against all of these. I believe that if more people try to stand up for something, let them stand up for this.

Because for every girl or woman who has been raped and condemned for being victims…there’s somebody who’s willing to fight for that woman’s right ti justice…or at least, for the right of every woman against the injustice of the rape culture.

For this, I’m proud to take a stand.

xoxo
Sheree

Leave a Reply

