Katawa

Yesterday, I heard the saddest sound. T’was the loneliest
I’ve ever heard. No, it wasn’t some melancholic love song. It
wasn’t even a tune. But it bore a strangely familiar timbre. It was
a laugh – the saddest, loneliest laugh. I’ve probably heard it
before. But…yesterday, Yes, yesterday, I heard the saddest. No
sound is louder than the echo of loneliness. No music as lonely as
the song of self-pity No weight as great as that of regret And no
burden as heavy as a heavy heart. I heard it once. I’ve probably
heard it before. But I hope I truly do hope to never hear it again
The sad laugh of an aching heart That lonesome regret of time gone
past The loneliness of an aging father How often have we all wished
that time turned back and just stood still.

Leave a Reply

