Arigatou

In case you haven’t noticed, I’m ironically a sentimental
person.

I always try my best to keep and treasure the gifts given
to me – regardless of who or whatever the reason the gifts were
given for.

This time, I was flipping through the folder where I
kept some of the wonderful letters and drawings I received when I
was younger. And when I opened it…I don’t know. There were just
too many emotions I couldn’t contain.

Right here, in this folder are the memories I’ve kept hidden for a really long time – feelings
I have long forgotten or thought to have long lost. Some gifts were
the firsts, some were the lasts – but all of them were special.

Each gift had a story to tell. There was the first song, the first
letter, certain poems, a short story, dried petals, etc.

I can’t believe I’m going sentimental. 😦 It’s just, I can’t help but think
of those could-have-been’s and what-if’s. I regret to say that
there were friendships long lost and wonderful strangers who shared
a small part of their life with me in spite of the fleeting moments
we had together.

I know you’re all out there somewhere. Thank you so much…for everything.

These gifts aren’t only special because you gave a part of yourselves to me, but because we all knew that
despite the distance, despite the short time we have been together,
we knew we shared something special.

These gifts will always remind me of those wonderful conversations, the annoying yet memorable
“arguments”, those sudden attacks of philosophical wanderings, and all those random experiences that have made us all laugh and cry (and may still do). Thank you for everything. You’ve become a wonderful part of my life that I will always be grateful for. I look forward to the moment when fate and time would allow our paths to cross
once again.

Until then, thank you.

Leave a Reply

